Table of Contents
Lynnwood DUI Defense Attorneys & King County DUI Defense attorneys
Your DUI Case Is Really Two Cases for One Arrest
Many people do not realize until it is too late that a Washington State DUI arrest creates not one but two separate cases. Not only do drivers have to deal with criminal prosecution in the criminal courts, but they also have a simultaneous case with the Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL).
At Veitch Ault Defense, we understand the ins and outs of Washington State DUI cases and how to defend you and your best interests. We will fight for your right to a fair trial, ensure all your legal documents are processed correctly and on time, and will help you uphold your rights throughout the duration of your case. Our Lynnwood DUI Defense Attorneys & King County DUI Defense attorneys have helped over a thousand clients successfully resolve their cases throughout Washington and look forward to doing what we can for you.
What Happens After a DUI Arrest?
After being arrested for a DUI, the state’s Department of Licensing (DOL) initiates an immediate suspension action against your driving privileges completely independent of your court case.
A police officer should give you a DOL Hearing Request Form at the time of your arrest and release. You must request a DOL hearing within seven days (including holidays and weekends). However, if the seventh day falls on a weekend or holiday, the following weekday would be the deadline.
If you do not request your hearing promptly, your license will be automatically suspended or revoked. If you do not prevail at the DOL hearing, your license will be automatically suspended or revoked even though your criminal case has not concluded. If you had a valid license before your arrest, you can keep driving while the outcome from your DOL hearing and the criminal court is pending.
The DOL hearing will take place over the phone between a Department of Licensing hearing examiner and you and your attorney, though you may be able to request an in-person hearing under certain circumstances. In most circumstances, the DOL hearing will occur within 60 days of your arrest.
Penalties for a DUI in Washington State
DUI penalties can include:
- Jail time,
- Electronic home monitoring,
- Ignition interlock,
- License Suspension/Revocation,
- 3 years of SR-22 Insurance,
- Community service,
- Fines and fees,
- Treatment for substance abuse,
- And more.
Your attorney can fully explain the likelihood of any of these penalties regarding your particular case. Please contact our office for a complimentary consultation.
Contact us today for a free consultation and find out how we can help.
2122 112th Ave. NE, Suite A200
Bellevue, WA 98004
20102 Cedar Valley Rd., Suite 104
Lynnwood, WA 98036
Why Choose Our Firm?
Selected as Super Lawyer for the past 7 years in a row
Successful Defense of Hundreds of DUI Cases
7 years as Super Lawyer
NHTSA training in both DWI Detection/Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (FST) along with Advanced Roadside Impairment Detection Enforcement (ARIDE)
Your First Initial Consultation Is Free
Dedicated to the Highest Level of Advocacy on Behalf of Their Clients
Each client is given their attorney’s personal cell phone # and can reach out at any time
We have successfully defended hundreds of DUI Cases. Reach Out to Us as Soon as Possible to Get the Best Solution For Your Case
Contact Us Today
Get Started with a Free Consultation
DUI Charge FAQ
If you are facing a DUI Charge in Washington State, it’s a serious matter that requires your
careful attention. The fact is that a conviction can lead to fines and penalties that can include
jail time and driver’s license suspension – in addition to your reputation being tarnished.
Because protecting your legal rights is key, having a skilled Washington State attorney in your
corner is paramount.
If a DUI charge has been levied against you, you have serious questions, and the answers to
those asked most frequently by others in your position can help.
The cost of hiring a trusted DUI lawyer in Washington State is quite reasonable in relation to the
consequences you face. The fact is that having professional legal counsel on your side could end
up being a real bargain. The cost of simply admitting guilt and accepting the fines and penalties
imposed by the court is too consequential not to bring your strongest defense.
Without the skilled legal guidance of a dedicated Washington State DUI lawyer in your corner,
your risk of facing the full force of the law escalates. With a savvy DUI attorney on your side,
however, you’ll be far better prepared to fight the charge – in pursuit of your case’s best
A DUI charge can only be dismissed in the State of Washington if one of the following applies:
● Dismissal via a decision made by the prosecutor
● Dismissal by the court based on a lack of evidence or successful motions
Even if your case isn’t dismissed, you may be able to obtain an acquittal at trial. The only way to
implement any of these options is by effectively challenging the state’s evidence in your case,
which requires the keen legal insight that only a practiced Washington State DUI lawyer can
It is your legal right to fight any criminal charge levied against you in the United States or in the
State of Washington, but doing so is challenging. In order to fight your DUI charge, you’ll need
to build your strongest defense, which includes either refuting the state’s evidence or
establishing that the police made legal errors in relation to evidence collection. Common
● Not having the probable cause – or reasonable suspicion – necessary to pull you over in
the first place, which is granted by the Fourth Amendment
● Failure to follow appropriate procedures for conducting your breath test or field
sobriety tests or failing to maintain chain of custody in a blood draw
● Failing to thoroughly document your arrest
● Failing to faithfully catalog the field notes related to the investigation that led to your
The police are held to strict rules and regulations when it comes to arresting the citizens of
Washington State, and your focused DUI lawyer will ferret out any irregularities in your case.
If you can’t get the DUI charge against you dropped, and you aren’t acquitted at trial, the most
important factor becomes the sentence you receive. Another option, however, may be having
the DUI charge reduced to a lesser charge, such as negligent or reckless driving, which a
knowledgeable DUI lawyer can help you with.
If you cannot have your charges reduced, you may be able to enter a deferred prosecution
program. In this program, the state does not proceed with its case against you and imposes
certain conditions such as not drinking or engaging in any other illegal activity. If you
successfully complete the program, the state will drop its case against you. If, however, you
violate the conditions imposed by the court, it will trigger a DUI conviction. An attorney can
advise you as to whether this option is available to you.
To begin, it’s important to recognize that jail time is a possibility for a first DUI in the State of
Washington. Washington actually has some of the harshest DUI penalties on the books, and
first DUI offenses are typically charged as gross misdemeanors, which come with the following
● Jail time of up to 364 days
● Fines of up to $5,000
There are also considerations like the following to keep in mind:
● Driver’s license suspension
● House arrest
● A mandatory ignition interlock device
● Alcohol or drug treatment
If your blood alcohol content (BAC) was above .15 or you refused a breath or blood test, the
chance that you will do jail time increases. It is important to note, however, that – while jail
sentences for first-time DUI offenses are not required and are often bypassed – there is a non-
suspendable requirement that anyone who is convicted of DUI in Washington State spend 24
consecutive hours in jail.
In Washington, a DUI conviction will remain on your record permanently, which makes having
professional legal counsel in your corner that much more important. It is also important to
note, however, that the gravity of a DUI conviction lessens after 7 to 10 years without
If you are convicted of a first DUI offense – or of a DUI with no offenses in the seven years prior
– you will be looking at a 90-day suspension of your driver’s license, which can seriously
interfere with your ability to make a living and to be there for your family.
Contact Us Today
Reach Out to an Experienced Washington State DUI Lawyer Today
The accomplished DUI lawyers at Veitch Ault Defense – proudly serving both Bellevue and
Lynnwood – together have more than four decades of imposing experience guiding challenging
cases like yours toward optimal outcomes, and we’re on your side. Learn more by reaching out
and contacting or calling us at 425-312-6753 today.