Bellevue Hit & Run Lawyers
Serious Defense for Serious Charges
Hit and run charges are particularly harsh because they often result in both civil and criminal penalties. Victims tend to bring lawsuits against defendants for injuring them and/or damaging their property, which is why it is especially imperative to retain powerhouse legal defense right away.
Hitting a vehicle with your car is one thing, but fleeing the scene of an accident is a whole different territory that calls for an attorney. Hit and run can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony in Washington State depending on the extent of the damage, as well as other circumstances that we will explain below. A conviction for either type of charge can result in substantial jail time, heavy fines, loss of employment, a criminal record, mandatory victim restitution, and more. For these reasons, it is in your best interests to retain our Bellevue hit and run attorneys at Veitch Ault Defense. We have a history of achieving favorable outcomes on behalf of numerous clients and have even won noteworthy awards as a result.
What is a Hit & Run?
In Washington State, a hit and run occurs when a driver is involved in an accident and flees the scene without providing their contact and insurance information. However, the type of charges and subsequent penalties heavily depend on whether the victim is present at the scene of the accident as well as the extent of the damage. That said, we explain hit and run attended as well as hit and run unattended charges in Washington State below.
Hit and Run Attended in Washington State
A person is guilty of a hit and run attended if, after being involved in an accident with an attended vehicle, they fail to do the following:
- Immediately stop
- Provide their name, address, insurance company, insurance policy number, and vehicle license number to the owner of any other vehicle involved in the accident
- Show their driver’s license to the owner of any other vehicle involved in the accident
- Render reasonable assistance to any person injured in the accident
If convicted of any type of hit and run crime in Washington State, there is a mandatory license revocation of 1 year along with a 3-year SR-22 insurance requirement. The additional penalties for a hit and run attended depend largely on the type of damage caused by the driving. See below:
- If the driver involved in the accident failed to stop or comply with any of the other requirements above and the accident resulted in death, the driver may be charged with a class B felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison and/or a $20,000 fine
- If the accident resulted in injury, a hit and run attended is a class C felony, punishable by a maximum of 5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine
- If the accident involved striking the body of a deceased person, a hit and run attended is a gross misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine
- If the accident involved resulted in only damage to another attended vehicle or property, hit and run attended is a gross misdemeanor punishable by a maximum of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine
Hit and Run Unattended in Washington State
The penalties are less severe for committing a hit and run when the owner of the vehicle is NOT at the accident scene. Nonetheless, hit and run unattended is penalized harshly and can result in jail time, fines, and more. A person is guilty of hit and run unattended if, after colliding with an unattended vehicle, they fail to do the following:
- Immediately stop
- Locate the owner of the other vehicle or provide their name address OR leave their name and address in a conspicuous place on the other vehicle
In Washington State, hit and run unattended is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine. Unlike hit and run attended, an unattended conviction does not result in a driver’s license revocation or a 3-year SR-22 Insurance requirement. Although you wouldn’t lose your driving privileges upon a hit and run unattended conviction, you could still lose a lot.
Protect Your Freedom with the Right Law Firm
Remember, you are innocent until proven guilty, and our attorneys will fight tirelessly to help maintain your innocence. We understand that there’s a lot at stake in hit and run cases, as you could lose your driving privileges, freedom, and reputation. That said, it’s essential to retain an attorney who is well-suited to handle charges like yours.
Choosing the right lawyer is no simple decision, so choose wisely and rely on Veitch Ault Defense for all your hit and run defense needs. To us, you’re not just another case number. It’s personal. As such, you can count on us to leverage our experience, insights, and strategies to help you move forward from your charges.
Contact us today for a free consultation and find out how we can help.
2122 112th Ave. NE, Suite A200
Bellevue, WA 98004
20102 Cedar Valley Rd., Suite 104
Lynnwood, WA 98036
Why Choose Our Firm?
Selected as Super Lawyer for the past 7 years in a row
Successful Defense of Hundreds of DUI Cases
7 years as Super Lawyer
NHTSA training in both DWI Detection/Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (FST) along with Advanced Roadside Impairment Detection Enforcement (ARIDE)
Your First Initial Consultation Is Free
Dedicated to the Highest Level of Advocacy on Behalf of Their Clients
Each client is given their attorney’s personal cell phone # and can reach out at any time
We Have Successfully Defended Hundreds of DUI Cases
Reach Out to Us as Soon as Possible to Get the Best Solution For Your Case
Contact Us Today
Get Started with a Free Consultation