Can You Avoid Jail Time After a 3rd DUI?

A third driving under the influence (DUI) offense in Washington comes with a mandatory minimum sentence of 120 days of electronic home monitoring or 90 days in jail. This mandatory minimum sentence climbs to 150 days of electronic home monitoring or 120 days in jail if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.15 or higher. If you want to avoid a third DUI conviction, it is paramount to hire an experienced DUI attorney. 

Veitch Ault Defense offers legal help to those charged with a DUI in Washington. If you are facing a third DUI offense, get in touch with our law firm. From here, we can take a look at your case and help you determine the best way to contest your DUI charge. 

Is a 3rd DUI a Felony in Washington State?

A third DUI is classified as a felony in Washington State. This is due to the fact that an offender has been previously convicted of a DUI. As such, the offender can face penalties that were more serious than those associated with their prior DUIs. 

In Washington State, a DUI is often considered a gross misdemeanor. If a person is convicted of a DUI in Washington for the first time, they may receive jail time, a fine, probation, and other penalties. Following this DUI conviction, the penalties associated with any future DUI convictions escalate. 

If you have concerns about jail time due to a DUI charge in Washington, the team at Veitch Ault Defense can help. We can connect you with a lawyer that understands the complexities of Washington DUI cases. Our lawyer will represent you throughout your case and put you in the best position to avoid a felony conviction. 

How Much Jail Time Do You Get for a 3rd DUI in Washington State?

You can receive a maximum jail sentence of one year for a third DUI in Washington. The amount of jail time you can get for a third DUI varies based on the case. To keep your jail sentence to a minimum, it pays to partner with a Washington DUI lawyer. 

A Washington DUI attorney cannot guarantee that you will be able to avoid jail time for a third DUI offense. However, the attorney does everything they can to represent your best interests and protect your legal rights. Your attorney can teach you about DUI penalties in Washington and build a legal strategy to help you avoid a lengthy jail sentence. 

There can be instances when a DUI attorney in Washington proposes a plea bargain in the hopes of settling your charge. If you accept a plea agreement, you accept a lesser charge than what you initially faced. In return, you may end up receiving a reduced jail sentence or avoid a felony DUI conviction. 

How Much Is Bail for a DUI in Washington State?

There is no set amount for bail in Washington State DUI cases. The judge determines the amount of bail for a DUI case, and this total can range from $0 to $10,000. With a third DUI offense, the bail may be set at or near $10,000 since you previously were charged with driving under the influence. 

Once the judge sets bail for your DUI, this amount will need to be paid before you can be released from jail. In this instance, you or someone you know can pay this amount. If you cannot cover the full amount of your bail, you can get help from a bail bondsman. 

After you post bail for a third DUI offense, you still need to dispute the charge against you. At this point, you can partner with a DUI lawyer. Next, you and your lawyer can work together to dispute your charge. 

What to Do After a 3rd DUI Offense in Washington

Do not wait to hire a DUI attorney. A third DUI offense can have long-lasting effects. If you have a DUI lawyer at your side, you can get plenty of help to contest your charge. 

Work with your DUI attorney to evaluate all of the facts of your case and build your argument accordingly. Your lawyer will ask you questions to learn about your prior DUI convictions and what happened when you were charged with your most recent DUI. Then, your attorney can review all of your legal options with you, and you can decide how to proceed with your case.

In the best-case scenario, your attorney can develop an argument that compels the court to drop your third DUI charge. To do so, your lawyer can raise doubts about the evidence against you. On top of that, your attorney can advocate on your behalf and make sure you receive comprehensive legal support throughout your litigation. 

Hire a DUI Lawyer Today

Veitch Ault Defense is available to help you contest a third DUI offense in Washington. To learn more or request a free consultation, please contact us today.

Categories

Related Posts

Criminal Defense

Fighting a DUI Charge Based on Police Misconduct

If police misconduct leads to DUI charges or a resulting conviction, you can point to these issues to defend yourself against the allegations. Missteps or ...
View Article
Criminal Defense

Expunging a DUI Conviction in Washington State

Those who have a DUI on their record may wonder if they can expunge a DUI in Washington State. Expungement is the process of scrubbing ...
View Article
Criminal Defense

Alternative Sentencing Options for DUI Offenders

The alternatives to jail time for a DUI include house arrest, the innovative 24/7 Sobriety Program, and the Ignition Interlock Device (IID). Additionally, some folks ...
View Article

We Have Successfully Defended Hundreds of DUI Cases

Reach Out to Us as Soon as Possible to Get the Best Solution For Your Case

For a free consultation to discuss your pending case or other legal matters, please call us any time at 425-452-1600 or complete our online contact form. Our attorneys will explain the entire process surrounding your charge and remove the fear and uncertainty regarding your arrest. Our team should be your first call if you need a top-rated, dedicated, and responsive DUI/DWI or criminal defense attorney. If success in your legal matters is your only option, we hope that you will place your trust in top-rated Washington State DUI attorney Robert Ault.  

Contact Us Today

Get Started with a Free Consultation

Law Firm SEO provided by Ranked.Legal